Bhupendra Patel Elected Leader Of BJP Legislative Party, To Take Oath As Gujarat CM On Monday

New Delhi: Following Bharatiya Janata Party’s sweeping victory in the Gujarat Assembly elections, Bhupendra Bhai Patel has been chosen again as the Chief Minister of the state, and will take the oath on Monday. Meanwhile, newly-elected BJP MLAs arrived at Gandhinagar party office on Sunday for a meeting where former Chief Minister Vijay Rupani was also present. 

Patel was chosen as the Chief Minister for a second consecutive term after he reisgned from the office a day earlier on Friday, to the state governor at Raj Bahwan. At the meeting, the BJP staked a claim to form the government.

According to sources, the new Gujarat Cabinet will take the oath with the Chief Minister on December 12 in a ceremony wherein more than a dozen ministers will be sworn in.

Securing a historic mandate in Gujarat, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday said that Bhupendra Patel would continue as the Chief Minister of the state and his oath-taking ceremony would take place on December 12.

The swearing-in ceremony will be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, and BJP State President CR Patil.

The BJP won a record 156 seats in Gujarat with a staggering 52.5 per cent vote share in its seventh consecutive poll victory. As opposed to this, the Opposition Congress and AAP got over 27 per cent and about 13 per cent vote share respectively. The Congress secured mere 17 seats while the AAP managed to bag five.

Independents won three seats and the Samajwadi Party picked up one.