Delhi CM Unveils Policy For Redevelopment Of Notified Non-Conforming Industrial Areas

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal said on Friday that his government has developed a policy for the redevelopment of 26 notified non-conforming industrial areas. He met with non-conforming area industrialists to begin the layout planning of these areas. According to the chief minister, the policy will be implemented in three stages. A panel of consultants will be formed during the first phase to prepare layout plans. 

He stated that the industrial associations will bear 10% of the consultant fees, while the government will bear the remainder.

The focus of the second phase will be the development of basic facilities such as sewer lines and road construction, while the third phase will see the development of facilities such as community hall construction.

“This will remove the tag of non-conforming areas from your areas,” Kejriwal said, according to a press release issued by the Delhi government. 

The statement said: “To ensure the successful execution of the project, a panel of consultants will be formed, with 90 percent of the consultancy cost being borne by the Delhi Government and the remaining 10 percent shared by the industry associations. This collaborative effort aims to leverage expertise and resources from both the public and private sectors. The positive impact of this initiative on employment generation cannot be overstated.”

To address this issue, Kejriwal stated that the government formulated a policy in which any area found to have continuous contiguous 4 hectares of land area with more than 70% of total units as industrial units would be notified as non conforming industrial areas. The government designated 26 notified areas as non-conforming industrial areas, including one godown cluster area.

The DDA issued an order two decades ago requiring the creation of layout plans and the start of redevelopment in these areas.

“The increasing population led to the spread of residential and commercial establishments, including industries. However, the Delhi Development Authority (DDA) failed to meet the growing demand for land, resulting in the emergence of misused land areas lacking essential infrastructure,” he added. 

There are a total of 26 non-conforming industrial areas in Delhi, including Anand Parbat, Shahdara, Samaypur Badli, Jawahar Nagar, Sultanpur Majra, Hastsal Pocket-A, Hastsal Pocket-D, Naresh Park Extension, Libaspur, Pira Garhi Gaon, Khayala, Shalimar Gaon, New Mandoli, Nawada, Rithala, Swarn Park Mundka, Haiderpur, Karawal Nagar, Dabri, Basai Darapur, Prahlaadpur Bangar, Mundka Udyog Nagar Dakshin, Firni Road Mundka, Nangli Sakrawati, and Tikri Kalan, according to the statement.

In addition, the Mundka (North) cluster will be relocated to the godown cluster. The notification process for all of these non-conforming industrial areas began in 1990 and will be completed in 2021, it said.