Duleep Trophy 2022 Final Ajinkya Rahane Sends Yashasvi Jaiswal Off From The Field For Disciplinary Issues

New Delhi: West Zone made a resounding comeback from a first innings loss to thrash South Zone by 294 runs in the final to clinch the Duleep Trophy cricket tournament title on Sunday. With this, West Zone has captured the Duleep Trophy for the record 19th time. Chasing a target of 523 runs for the title, South Zone was bundled out for 234 runs.

Meanwhile, a major controversy erupted on the final day of Duleep Trophy final. During the 1st session of final day, West Zone captain Ajinkya Rahane sent young batter Yashasvi Jaiswal off the field due to disciplinary issues. This decision of Rahane had to be taken at the behest of the umpire.

Jaiswal had a verbal altercation with South Zone batter Ravi Teja in between the 50th over and for this he was stopped 2-3 times. It is being reported that Jaiswal had also let out a few explicit words during the heated argument with Teja. Umpires and Ajinkya Rahane himself intervened to calm things down but when Jasiwal continued sledging even after several warnings, the West Zone skipper was left with no choice but to ask Jaiswal to leave the field, who eventually returned to the field in the 65th over.

In the Duleep Trophy final match, Yashasvi Jaiswal’s superb innings of 265 runs helped West Zone win the Duleep Trophy 2022 by a big margin of 294 runs.  Electing to bat after winning the toss, Rahane-led West Zone scored 270 runs. 

Chasing a mammoth target of 529 runs, South Zone extended their second innings at 154/6 on the fifth and final day of the match and their entire team was bowled out for 234 runs. For South Zone, Ravi Teja scored 53 runs but that could only reduce the margin of defeat.

Yashasvi Jaiswal (265 runs in the second innings), Sarfaraz Khan (127 runs in the second innings) and Unadkat’s bowling played a key role in the big win for West Zone.

After trailing by 57 runs in the first innings, West Zone declared their second innings at 585/4. West Zone had scored 270 runs in their first innings, in reply to which South Zone took the lead by scoring 327 runs. Chasing a target of 523 runs for the title, South Zone was bundled out for 234 runs.