‘God Told Me…’: Former Goa CM Digambar Kamat After Joining BJP With 7 Other Congress MLAs

New Delhi: Former Chief Minister Digambar Kamat on Wednesday said that it was after divine approval that he decided to jump ship from the Congress to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).  

Responding to a question on his ‘loyalty pledge’ before God that he will never leave Congress, Kamat, as quoted by news agency PTI said, “God told me ‘you take the decision, I am with you.’ I have faith in God. I again went before God and shared the entire situation and sought his guidance. He then told me to take a decision.”

Meanwhile, Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant on Wednesday said that eight MLAs of the Congress have joined the ruling BJP unconditionally.

Addressing a press conference with state BJP chief Sadanant Shet Tanavade, CM Sawant said that BJP’s strength in the 40-member Assembly has gone up to 28 with the eight new entrants.

The chief minister said eight of the 11 MLAs of Congress, including former chief minister Digambar Kamat, have joined the BJP.

“With today’s development, the BJP now enjoys the support of 33 MLAs (including two of the Maharashtravadi Gomantak Party and three Independents). These Congress MLAs have joined the BJP unconditionally,” Sawant said.

It is to be noted that ahead of the February 2022 Goa elections, the Congress party candidates had taken an oath before temples, church and dargah, that they would not leave the grand old party after getting elected and will always remain loyal.

Kamat had taken the lead to give this oath to the candidates, video of which is has gone viral after eight Congress MLAs switched over to BJP.

As per reports, Digambar Kamat, Michael Lobo, Delilah Lobo, Kedar Naik, Sankalp Amonkar, Rajesh Faldesai, Aleixo Sequeira and Rudolf Fernandes are the eight legislators who have switched parties.