IIT Bhubaneswar gets new director

BHUBANESWAR: Shreepad Karmalkar, a professor of IIT Madras, has been appointed as director of IIT Bhubaneswar. The Union ministry of education issued a letter on this appointment on Monday.
“The appointment shall be on contract for a period of five years with effect from the date of assumption of charge of the post or till attaining the age of 70 years, whichever is earlier, in accordance with the terms and conditions laid down in the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 and Statutes framed thereunder,” said the order of the ministry of education.
This IIT Madras alumnus, who later joined his alma mater as a teacher, has been awarded three patents in the areas of semiconductor device modelling and process development. He has received the 2006 Vikram Sarabhai Award for research and a 2007 IBM Faculty Award for research and teaching, official sources said.
Sources said Karmalkar, who has acted as a consultant to industries for developing manufacturing processes for semiconductor devices, will help the IIT Bhubaneswar’s semiconductor research works immensely. This national institute has already received administrative approval from the ministry of electronics and information technology for implementation of the Chips to Startup (C2S) programme.
He was a member of the National Working Group on Nanotechnology set up by the Union ministry of electronics and IT and the all India board of undergraduate studies of the AICTE.
Virendra Kumar Tewari, director of IIT Kharagpur, was given additional charge as director of IIT Bhubaneswar from April 2 this year. Tewari took additional charge after the tenure of former director RV Raja Kumar ended.
IIT Bhubaneswar, established in 2008, has received two regular directors and two acting directors before Tewari joined. Madhusudan Chakraborty was the regular director from May 19, 2009 to August 18, 2014, while Raja Kumar continued in the top post from April 22, 2015 to April 2, 2022. Two acting directors were Damodar Acharya and Sujit Roy.