‘Jai Bhim’, ‘Gangubai Kathiawadi’, ’83’ Get Nominated, Check Full List

New Delhi: The Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM) has announced its nominations for its 13th award ceremony and films like ‘Gangubai Kathiawadi’, ‘Badhaai Do’, ‘Jai Bhim’ ‘Minnal Murali’ and others have been nominated in the Best Film category. 

The festival, which is presented by the Victorian Government, is an annual festival that takes place in Melbourne, Australia, and showcases the best films from India and the subcontinent. This year the festival starts August 12-20. The Awards night is all set to take place on August 14. There are over 100 films across 23 languages being screened at the festival. 
This year’s big nominees include ‘Jai Bhim’, ‘The Rapist’, ‘Gangubai Kathiwadi’, ’83’, ‘Badhaai Do’, ‘Sardar Udham’, among others. 
Indie film nominations have acclaimed films including ‘Pedro’, ‘Once Upon a Time in Calcutta’, ‘Fair Folk’ amongst others, while ‘Urf’, ‘Ayena’, ‘Ladies Only’ are some of the Best Docu nominees. 

The IFFM’s this year festival jury boasts of jury members like global award-winning film editor Jill Bilcock, one of Australia’s renowned actors Vince Colosimo, multi-award-winning director Geoffrey Wright and multi-award-winning filmmaker Nadia Tass. 
The Best Film winner automatically gets a nomination nod under the Best Asian Film category at the annual prestigious AACTA (Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards). 
This year too those awards will be included with Best Series, Best Actor in a Series, and Best Actress in a Series. In these categories, ‘Mumbai Diaries’, ‘Aranyak’, ‘Mai’ and ‘Yeh Kaali Kaali Ankhein’ are leading the nominations. 
Actors Gopal Hegde for ‘Pedro’, Rajkummar Rao for ‘Badhaai Do’, Ranveer Singh ’83’, Suriya, Tovino Thomas, Vicky Kaushal and Abhishek have been named in the Best Actor category. 
While in the Best Actor (Female) section, names like Alia Bhatt, Deepika Padukone, Bhumi Pedenkar, Kokona Sen Sharma, Lijomol Jose, Shefali Shah, Sreelekha Mitra and Vidya Balan are nominated. 
Pakistani film ‘Joyland’, ‘Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom’ from Bhutan, Bangladesh movies such ‘No Man’s Land’ and Rehana Maryam Noor; and Sri Lankan film ‘The Newspaper’ have made it to the Best Film From Subcontinent. 

Here is the complete list of nominations: 


83 / Hindi 

Badhaai Do / Hindi 

Gangubai Kathiawadi / Hindi 

Jai Bhim / Tamil 

Minnal Murali / Malayalam 

Paka (River of Blood) / Malayalam 

Sardar Udham / Hindi 

The Rapist / English, Hindi 


Boomba Ride / Mishing 

Dug Dug / Hindi 

Jaggi / Punjabi 

Once Upon a Time in Calcutta / Bengali 

Pedro / Kannada 

Shankar’s Fairies / Hindi 

Shoebox / Hindi 

Fairy Folk / Hindi, English 


Gopal Hegde, Pedro / Kannada 

Rajkummar Rao, Badhaai Do / Hindi 

Ramnish Chaudhary, Jaggi / Punjabi 

Ranveer Singh, 83 / Hindi 

Suriya, Jai Bhim / Tamil 

Tovino Thomas, Minnal Murali / Malayalam 

Vicky Kaushal, Sardar Udham / Hindi 

Abhishek Bachchan – Dasvi / Hindi 


Alia Bhatt, Gangubai Kathiawadi / Hindi 

Bhumi Pednekar, Badhaai Do / Hindi 

Deepika Padukone, Gehraiyaan / Hindi 

Konkona Sen Sharma, The Rapist / English, Hindi, 

Lijomol Jose, Jai Bhim / Tamil 

Shefali Shah, Jalsa / Hindi 

Sreelekha Mitra, Once Upon A Time In Calcutta / Bengali 

Vidya Balan, Jalsa / Hindi 


Anmol Sidhu, Jaggi / Punjabi 

Aparna Sen, The Rapist / Hindi 

Kabir Khan, 83 / Hindi 

Pan Nalin, Chhello Show (Last Film Show) / Gujarati 

Sanjay Leela Bhansali Gangubai Kathiawadi / Hindi 

Shoojit Sircar, Sardar Udham / Hindi 

Suresh Triveni, Jalsa / Hindi 

T.J. Gnanavel, Jai Bhim / Tamil 


A Night of Knowing Nothing 

Ayena (Mirror) 

Kicking Balls 

Ladies Only 

Urf (A.K.A) 


Joyland / Pakistan 

Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom / Bhutan 

No Land’s Man / Bangladesh 

Rehana Maryam Noor / Bangladesh 

The Newspaper / Sri Lanka 


Mohit Raina – Mumbai Diaries 26/11 

Parambrata Chatterjee – Aranyak 

Varun Mitra – Guilty Minds 

Tahir Raj Bhasin, Yeh Kaali Kaali Ankhein 

Dhruv Sehgal – Little Things Final Season 


Konkona Sensharma – Mumbai Diaries 26/11 

Sakshi Tanwar – Mai 

Madhuri Dixit – Fame Game 

Mithila Palkar – Little Things Final Season 

Raveena Tandon – Aranyak 

Shriya Pilgaonkar / Guilty Minds 



Mumbai Diaries 26/11 

Fame Game 


Little Things Final Season 

Yeh Kaali Kaali Ankhein 

(With inputs from IANS)