‘One Bowler Less And One Batsman Added In’

New Delhi: The Indian skipper Rohit Sharma is likely to play the second Test against Bangladesh on September 22. Shubman Gill played in place of Rohit Sharma in the first Test and he scored a century also. Now the question is who will make way for Rohit Sharma? Gill or Kl Rahul. 

As usual former India batter, Wasim Jaffer came up with a unique solution to the situation. While talking to ESPNCricinfo, Jaffer said that one of the bowlers will make way for Rohit Sharma. According to him, the Indian team management will be dropping a spinner. 

“It’s an old saying that when the batters don’t perform, the bowlers get dropped. So, I am guessing one bowler less and one batsman added in. We’ll see that one spinner might be less and Rohit Sharma might make way for one of the bowlers,” Jaffer told the sports website.

Talking about the match, Axar Patel took three wickets as Bangladesh were 272 for 6 at stumps on Day 4.  They came out to bat to chase 513 runs against India  Chattogram and will be needing 241 more runs to win on Sunday. The Bangla Tigers started off well with Zakir Hassan amassing a fine hundred on debut and helped Bangladesh put 200 on the fourth day of the opening Test on Saturday. Hassan was batting with Mushfiqur Rahim when he reached the landmark. Ashwin then got rid of him and picked up his first wicket of the match.

Shakib Al Hasan and Mehidy Hasan Miraz are batting and they need close to 250 runs on the final day to win the Test match. 


India: KL Rahul (captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Saurabh Kumar, Kona Bharat, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhimanyu Easwaran.

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Litton Das (wk), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mominul Haque, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Taijul Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanta, Rejaul Rahaman Raja, Zakir Hasan (wk), Nurul Hasan (wk), Yasir Ali.