New Delhi: India’s Deepti Sharma’s run out of Charlie Dean in the third ODI has garnered a lot of reactions as the bowler ran out Charlie Dean to collect England’s final wicket after the batter had backed up.
According to the ICC handbook, India’s Deepti Sharma’s run out of Charlie Dean in the third ODI was entirely legal, but it didn’t stop Englishmen like Stuart Broad and James Anderson from criticising it. The Indian women’s team defeated England at Lord’s to win the three-match series and bid Jhulan Goswami goodbye on Saturday.
Bowler Deepti ran out Charlie Dean to collect England’s final wicket after the batter had backed up. When Sharma stopped in the middle of her bowling motion to run out the batter for 47 runs with the target being only 17 runs away, Dean was backing up. The dismissal complies fully with the rules of the game.
Broad tweeted “I find the debate of the Mankad really interesting. So many views from either side. I personally wouldn’t like to win a match like that, also, very happy for others to feel differently.”
I find the debate of the Mankad really interesting. So many views from either side. I personally wouldn’t like to win a match like that, also, very happy for others to feel differently https://t.co/BItCNJZqYB
— Stuart Broad (@StuartBroad8) September 24, 2022
Anderson, a longtime teammate of Broad’s and the top wicket-taker among pacers, “Will never understand why players feel the need to do this. Is she stealing ground?”
Will never understand why players feel the need to do this. Is she stealing ground? pic.twitter.com/KJi1Rgzmdi
— James Anderson (@jimmy9) September 24, 2022
Sam Billings, another cricketer wrote on his Twitter handle, “There’s surely not a person who has played the game that thinks this is acceptable? Just not cricket …”
There’s surely not a person who has played the game that thinks this is acceptable?
Just not cricket… https://t.co/VLGeddDlrz
— Sam Billings (@sambillings) September 24, 2022
However, many people also came together on social media to support the dismissal including the former India opener Virender Sehwag calling some English players “poor losers” in a tweet.
— Virender Sehwag (@virendersehwag) September 24, 2022
When India was sent in to bat, they were all out for 169, and it appeared like the visitors would have come well short of giving their great seamer, who is retiring after 20 years of outstanding service to the game, a match to remember. However, the Indians narrowly prevailed when Dean (47) was ruled to have been run out for backing up. When the hosts were reeling at 65 for 7 and then 103 for 8, Dean, who was on the verge of pulling off a surprise victory for the hosts, was out of her ground, Deepti just held the ball to remove the bails, confounding the English.
ALSO READ | Fairy-Tale Farewell: India Whitewash England In Jhulan Goswami’s Last Waltz
Although it has always been a lawful kind of dismissal, the ICC recently changed the conditions of playing and changed this type of dismissal from “unfair play” to “run out”. According to MCC Law 41.16.1, “If the non-striker is out of his/her ground at any time from the moment the ball comes into play until the instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, the non-striker is liable to be run out. In these circumstances, the non-striker will be out run out if he/she is out of his/her ground when his/her wicket is put down by the bowler throwing the ball at the stumps or by the bowler’s hand holding the ball, whether or not the ball is subsequently delivered,” it read.